You are probably aware that you need auto insurance to drive in Ohio, but how do you choose how much and what kind? You must carry at least the minimum liability coverage under Ohio’s Financial Responsibility Law. However, this bare minimum may not be enough to cover the full amount of damages sustained in a major accident or in a crash involving an uninsured driver. Of course, with each new policy you add, you also increase your monthly insurance premiums.
Before talking to your insurance agent, learn more about your options, so you can get what you need but still avoid the hard sale. The Guide to Automobile Insurance from the Ohio Department of Insurance (ODI) is a useful resource when you’re shopping for the right policies.
To comply with Ohio’s Financial Responsibility Law, all new policies of auto insurance in Ohio must be issued with the following limits:
- $25,000 for bodily injury per person
- $50,000 for bodily injury for all people injured in a single accident
- $25,000 for property damage in each crash
Since this change to minimum limits is just going into effect for new policies and renewals, some Ohio drivers will still have policies applying the old minimum limits. Going forward, all new policies and renewals will apply higher limits.
Consider whether to purchase other types of optional coverage, such as:
- Uninsured and underinsured drivers (UM and UIM) covers you in a wreck with an uninsured motorist or pays amounts in excess of an underinsured driver’s policy.
- Collision pays for repairs on your car when it is damaged in any type of accident, including a rollover or a crash into another motor vehicle or an object, regardless of who is at fault.
- Comprehensive physical damage covers damage arising from theft, fire, vandalism, hail, falling objects or collisions with animals.
If you have questions about your rights to compensation under your insurance contract, consult with a Cleveland personal injury attorney with experience in auto accident recovery.